#LHM Summit

Wednesday October 7th to Friday October 9th


Techqueria's #LHM Summit is a free virtual conference during Latinx Heritage Month (LHM) created to empower Latinx professionals in tech, connect them with companies who are committed to inclusion and to celebrate the thriving Latinx in tech community.


Mission

Increase the visibility and leadership of Latinx professionals in tech by bringing them all together in one place to engage with thought leaders, network and ultimately grow and learn from each other

Attendee Benefits

Celebrate

Celebrate

Let's honor and recognize our achievements during Latinx Heritage Month

Network

Network

Get the chance to connect with the largest community of Latinx in tech

Learn

Learn

Hear the perspectives and advice from over 60 different professionals and leaders in tech

Win

Win

Get the chance to win unique promos from our partners and raffle prizes delivered to you

Speakers

Featuring 74 Latinx professionals and leaders in tech

Adriana Flores-Ragade

Host
Latinx in America Podcast

Alexis Lucio

Accessibility and Inclusive Design Lead
Splunk

Amanda Lopez

Manager, Talent Acquisition (Digital Experience)
Adobe

Amber Gonzales-Vargas

Senior Program Manager
Latino Community Foundation

Amelia Garcia

Senior Strategy Associate
Scribd

Andrew Gonzalez

Recruiting Partnerships & Operations Associate
Jam City

Angie Calderon

Talent Specialist
Figma

Annelise Hagar-Preciado

Operations Program Manager
Lyft

Ariele Faber

White House Presidential Innovation Fellow
White House Presidential Innovation Fellows (Invited)

Austin Hernandez

Senior Product Designer
18F (Invited)

Brendon Villalobos

Machine Learning Technical Lead
Twilio

Camilo Payan

Web Developer
Residential Elevator Manufacturing, Inc

Cari Perez

Community Manager
General Assembly

Carita Marrow

Community Manager
General Assembly

Celina Zamora

Sr. Program Manager, Developer Community
MongoDB

Christian Arana

Policy Director
Latino Community Foundation

Citalli Solano Leonce

Director of Engineering
Splunk

Cuco Vega

Co-Founder & CTO
Bexi

Cynthia Maxwell

Studio UI Engineering Manager
Netflix

Desiree Zamora Garcia

Product Design Manager
Loom

Dia Bondi

Communications Catalyst & Coach
Dia Bondi Communications

Dr. Ricardo Baeza-Yates

Director of Graduate Data Science Programs
Northeastern University

Elaine Montilla

Assistant Vice President and CIO
The Graduate Center, CUNY

Eliana Briceno

Senior Customer Success Manager and Team Lead
Phone2Action

Emmanuel Olvera

Founder
EmpleosTI

Erika Galeana-Sanchez

Sr. Creative Producer
Airbnb

Felipe Ventura

Executive Director
Techqueria

Frances Coronel

Executive Director
Techqueria

Francisco Alegria

Recruiter
OkCupid

Francisco Javier Arceo

Founder & CEO
Unidos

Gabrielle Rejouis

Senior Policy Manager
Color of Change

Gisselle Ruiz

Global Talent Acquisition
ByteDance

Greg Peters

Chief Product Officer
Netflix

Indira Gutierrez

Senior Software Engineer
Visa

Jessyka Castillo

Agency Partnerships
Cloud.gov (Invited)

John Canela

Incident Response Consultant
Mandiant

Jose Fermoso

Founder
Points of Presence Media

Jose Rodriguez Salinas

Senior Software Engineer
Humu Inc

Josh Torres

Chief of Staff
Out in Tech

Joshua Encarnacion

CEO
Outco

Joél-Léhi Organista

Founder & CEO
Machitia

Justin Kitagawa

Senior Director, Software Engineering
Twilio

Kelly Kitagawa

Senior Director, Software Engineering
Twilio

Kendra Morales

VP of Client Engagement
Betts Recruiting

Krys Flores

Senior Software Engineer
Lob

Laura Dominguez

Career Services Manager
Flockjay

Liliana Hu Wu

Co-Lead
Dreamers in Tech

Lorena Villeges

Director of Operations
Illumix

Luis Curiel

Engineering Recruiter
Twitter

Maria Del Carmen Saenz

Senior DevOps Engineer
PEAK6 Investments

Marley Pulido-Vargas

Director, Worker Resources and Training
Coworker.org

Mica Alaniz

Senior Software Engineer, Tech Lead
DNC (Democratic National Committee)

Michael Anthony Urbina

Executive Recruiter
Box

Michael Orozco

Technical Recruiter
Netflix

Michael Tristan

Head of Sales & Customer Success Enablement
KeepTruckin

Michelle Gomez

Life & Career Coach
Michelle Gomez Coaching

Mina Rabideaux

Senior Analyst, Data & Analytics
Avanade

Mo Ramos

Program Manager, Diversity Talent Acquisition (University Talent)
Adobe

Noel Claudio

Consultant
Slalom

Odalys Jasmine Garcia Arce

Host & Creator
Hella Latin@ Podcast

Paola Mariselli

Product Design Manager
Facebook

Pia Zaragoza

VP of Accessibility Research and Insights
JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Rachael Olasunkanmi

Student Finance Account Manager
We can Code IT

Ramona Robles

Learning & Development Manager
Unite Us

Red Avila

Senior Technical Recruiter
OpenAI

Renee Ramirez

Executive Advisor
Google

Sofia Rodriguez

Senior Community Manager
Salesforce

Tonatiuh Ramos

Co-Lead
Dreamers in Tech

Victoria Bitzer-Wales

Strategic Engagement and Communications, IT Modernization Centers of Excellence
GSA (Invited)

Ximena Cervantes

Senior Technical Recruiter
Vouch Insurance

Yiemi Andrea Fuquen Moreno

Senior Software Engineer
Twilio

Yoselin Gonzalez-Mendez

Community Engagement Manager
First Graduate

Yvette Ramirez

Recruiter
Databricks

Zainab Ebrahimi

Software Engineering Consultant
Tall Poppy

Schedule

30+ sessions including keynotes and workshops

Day 1 - LHM Summit

Day 1

Wednesday, October 7th

Getting Hired

Before Hours
Networking & Expo

9 AM-11 AM PT // 11 AM-1 PM CT // 12 PM-2 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 and explore the expo booths


Welcome & Keynote

11 AM PT // 1 PM CT // 2 PM ET


Non-Technical Careers @ Hyper-Growth Startups

11:45 AM PT // 1:45 PM CT // 2:45 PM ET


Session with Zendesk

11:45 AM PT // 1:45 PM CT // 2:45 PM ET


Getting Hired Into Tech

12:30 PM PT // 2:30 PM CT // 3:30 PM ET


Interview Prep

12:30 PM PT // 2:30 PM CT // 3:30 PM ET


During Hours
Networking & Expo

1:15 PM PT // 3:15 PM CT // 4:15 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 or explore the expo booths


Level Up & Gain Visibility

2 PM PT // 4 PM CT // 5 PM ET


Salary Negotiation 101

2 PM PT // 4 PM CT // 5 PM ET


AMA with Technical Recruiters

2:45 PM PT // 4:45 PM CT // 5:45 PM ET


AMA with Non-Technical Recruiters

2:45 PM PT // 4:45 PM CT // 5:45 PM ET


Bridging the Gap between Education & Career in Tech

3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM CT // 6:30 PM ET


Overcoming Marianismo & Elevating Your Career

3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM CT // 6:30 PM ET


After Hours
Networking & Expo

4:15 PM-5 PM PT // 6:15 PM CT-7 PM CT // 7:15 PM PT-8 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 and explore the expo booths

Day 2 - LHM Summit

Day 2

Thursday, October 8th

Career Growth

Before Hours
Networking & Expo

9 AM-11 AM PT // 11 AM-1 PM CT // 12 PM-2 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 and explore the expo booths


TBA

11 AM PT // 1 PM CT // 2 PM ET


Designing with Inclusion

11:45 AM PT // 1:45 PM CT // 2:45 PM ET


From Imposter to Impact

11:45 AM PT // 1:45 PM CT // 2:45 PM ET


Como la Flor - Recognizing Toxic Work Environments

12:30 PM PT // 2:30 PM CT // 3:30 PM ET


Your Personal Guide to Understanding Your Recruiter

12:30 PM PT // 2:30 PM CT // 3:30 PM ET


During Hours
Networking & Expo

1:15 PM PT // 3:15 PM CT // 4:15 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 or explore the expo booths


Day in the Life of a PM

2 PM PT // 4 PM CT // 5 PM ET


Getting Promoted to Senior Engineer

2 PM PT // 4 PM CT // 5 PM ET


Day in the Life of a Product Designer

2:45 PM PT // 4:45 PM CT // 5:45 PM ET


Latinas in Engineering

2:45 PM PT // 4:45 PM CT // 5:45 PM ET


Building an International Remote Startup

3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM CT // 6:30 PM ET


Decolonizing Work

3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM CT // 6:30 PM ET


After Hours
Networking & Expo

4:15 PM-5 PM PT // 6:15 PM CT-7 PM CT // 7:15 PM PT-8 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 and explore the expo booths

Day 3 - LHM Summit

Day 3

Friday, October 9th

Celebrating Community

Before Hours
Networking & Expo

9 AM-11 AM PT // 11 AM-1 PM CT // 12 PM-2 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 and explore the expo booths


Virtual Fireside Chat with Netflix

11 AM PT // 1 PM CT // 2 PM ET


Panel En Español

11:45 AM PT // 1:45 PM CT // 2:45 PM ET


Spotlighting Dreamers in Tech

11:45 AM PT // 1:45 PM CT // 2:45 PM ET


Finding Community in ERGs

12:30 PM PT // 2:30 PM CT // 3:30 PM ET


Navigating Success as a Queer Latinx in Tech

12:30 PM PT // 2:30 PM CT // 3:30 PM ET


During Hours
Networking & Expo

1:15 PM PT // 3:15 PM CT // 4:15 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 or explore the expo booths


The Magic of Afro-Latinidad

2 PM PT // 4 PM CT // 5 PM ET


Civic Tech Panel

2 PM PT // 4 PM CT // 5 PM ET


Latinx Podcast Panel

2:45 PM PT // 4:45 PM CT // 5:45 PM ET


Fireside Chat on Your Right to Vote

2:45 PM PT // 4:45 PM CT // 5:45 PM ET


Accessibility in Tech

3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM CT // 6:30 PM ET


Showing up as Afro-Latinx in the Workplace

3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM CT // 6:30 PM ET


After Hours
Networking & Expo

4:15 PM-5 PM PT // 6:15 PM CT-7 PM CT // 7:15 PM PT-8 PM ET

Mingle with other attendees 1:1 and explore the expo booths

Sponsors & Partners

Hosted on
Hopin.to

We'll be using Hopin.to to host #LHM Summit which comes packed with a lot of great features!

  • Join hands-on sessions
  • Visit expo booths
  • Network 1-on-1

Thank you for hosting such a wonderful and empowering event! Even though I am not in Tech, I still took a lot from the event and met wonderful people that I can connect my students to.

I loved that there was ample time to ask questions and that everything was explained very well. I learned a lot about how to approach the job search and how to increase your visibility. This was a great event and hope to attend more like this.

The Techqueria team did a great job organizing the agenda and getting the speakers! I really enjoyed the breakout Zoom sessions!

I'm still new to the community, and just seeing all these accomplished people from Latinx backgrounds really helped to combat my doubts of being in tech since most of my colleagues come from other backgrounds.

Loved the breakout sessions and getting to connect with other Latinx members in tech. The support and encouragement coming from the speakers and breakout sessions was beautiful!

I really enjoyed the format of talk and then a break out session. The starter questions were helpful too. Thank you so much. This event meant a lot to me.

Free to attend

While this event's primary audience is Latinx professionals in tech, allies are welcome to attend as well.

Sponsorship Benefits

Limited sponsorship slots are available $4K.

Benefits include access to resume database, expo booth and brand visibility.

The sponsorship package priced at $5K which included a speaker invite is no longer available as of September 12.


1

Resume Database

Tap into the largest community of Latinx in Tech professionals and reach out to summit attendees interested in new job opportunities. Techqueria's community and member growth is unmatched.

2

Expo Booth

Showcase your company with either pre-recorded videos or a live video stream session through the expo booth. Customizable lead generation feature built-in for capturing attendee interest.

3

Brand Visibility

Sponsor logo will be hyperlinked on the event website, event platform and in emails. Custom social media assets provided.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to RSVP to attend the day of?

Yep, you sure do. Make sure to RSVP to get a special link that will allow you to create your profile on Hopin and also receive reminder emails.

What platform is Techqueria using to host the summit?

We are using Hopin.to which supports a main stage, expo booths, 1:1 networking sessions and panel sessions.

Can I just attend one day or one session?

Yes, the event is free to attend so please attend what sessions are most appealing to you! You will still need to RSVP if you want to attend any session though.

Is there a Code of Conduct?

Yes, please refer to Techqueria's Code of Conduct. You will be booted out of the event if you violate it.

How do I convince my manager to let me attend?

Check out this sample copy we've created that you can share with your manager.

Will there be swag?

But of course! Not everyone will get swag but we'll be definitely be giving a couple of random lucky winners some awesome items that get shipped directly to them.

Can I sponsor this event?

Yes, but we have limited sponsorship options starting September 12th and will stop taking requests on September 30th. Reach out to us at partnerships@techqueria.org if interested.

Can I be a speaker?

We closed our call for speakers starting September 12th so unfortunately, no but please feel free to submit your info for consideration for other Techqueria events.

Do speakers receive an honorarium?

Yes, of course. We value the time and effort it takes to create engaging content for our attendees to interact with. The honorarium is $100 for panelists and $250 for those who are the sole speaker for their session.

How many attendees will there be?

We are expecting over 1,000 RSVPs and at least 300 folks in attendance at any given time.

How can I share this event?

Check out the #LHM Summit Social Media Kit for images and copy you can use to share the event with friends.

I still have questions!

Reach out to us at support@techqueria.org or chat with us directly through our website for general questions.

The Team

Who's making all this possible

Felipe Ventura

Executive Director, Techqueria

Frances Coronel

Executive Director, Techqueria

Mary Ramirez

Partnerships Lead, Techqueria

Francisco Cruz-Mendoza

Social Media Lead, Techqueria

Cari Perez

Chapter Director for Miami, Techqueria

Sal Ramirez

Volunteer — Speakers, Promos & Raffle Prizes

Michael Urbina

Volunteer — Influencers, Comms

Cat Martinez

Volunteer — Sessions, Hopin.to

Maria Jose Rios

Volunteer — Social Media

Yazeli Cruz

Volunteer — Influencers, Promos & Raffle Prizes

Roberto Salcido

Volunteer — Comms


🌐Share this page

ℹ️About Techqueria

Techqueria is a 501c3 nonprofit that empowers Latinx professionals with the resources and support that they need to thrive and become leaders in the tech industry.

To that end, we work with both tech companies and employee resource groups (ERGs) to build Latinx-centered spaces that revolve around career advice, technical talks, mentorship, open jobs, networking events, speaking opportunities, and open-source in order to comprehensively affect change in the tech industry.

Coming from all walks of life, we believe that the diversity of our community is the most reliable asset we have. Our space aims to be inclusive so we invite Latinx from the regions of the Caribbean, Haiti, and Brazil as well as those who identify as Afro-Latinx, Asian-Latinx or LGBTQIA. The term Latinx is used instead of Latino or Latina because it is a gender-neutral and inclusive term.

📨Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest updates from Techqueria in your inbox every month.

✉️

🌈Follow us on social media

💛Donate to Techqueria

Support Techqueria's efforts by becoming an on-going patron or making a one-time donation.